Machu Picchu

Founded on 24thJuly1911 By Hiram Bingham III.

Hiram Bingham III was an academic explorer from Yale University and has published his book on Machu Picchu in the 1940’s titled “Lost City Of The Incas – Hiram Bingham”.
The remarkable find of Machu Picchu, Which means “Old peak” has been regarded as one of the archaeological finds of the century and still to this day baffles archaeologists with its mysteries.

Located in Peru,hidden amongst the dense Amazon rainforest,8,000 feet above sea level nesting between two giant mountains lies Machu Picchu. The hidden city of the Incas covers a landmass of 32,592 hectares stretching over 530 meters in length,

This gigantic landmass resides with the clouds offering spectacular views of valleys and the amazing green landscapes. Considering the size of Machu Picchu’s landform the site has been broken into two sections, the “urban” sector and the “agricultural” sector.

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu – The Urban Sector

The urban sector is generally the largest portion of Machu Picchu, This is the area that is most rich in tourism and is the main reason why Machu Picchu is now one of the “seven wonders of the world”. The urban sector is where the Incas lived and performed religious ceremonies.There are over150 houses and temples, all built from 1000’s of very precisely cut blocks of granite that have been positioned together so tightly it would be impossible to fit your credit card between them. The average weights of these rocks have been estimated at 23kg each. The Incan civilization was before the invention of the wheel, iron, steel or mortar, producing endless questions as to how the Incas built Machu Picchu.


Machu Picchu – The Agriculture Sector

The agricultural sector doesn’t seem to hold as much reputation compared to the urban sector since there isn’t as much to see, however it still holds its importance.
Watch-Mans Hut is a strategic placed building where the Incas could observe not only the great views out of Machu Picchu, but also the amazing city itself.
The agricultural sector is divided into two parts, known as the lower and upper halves.

The lower half offers 80 separate terraces that are connected via stairs to the upper half, which also presents another 40 separate terraces. This sector of Machu Picchu lays the remains of where vegetation such as potatoes was grown.